Home » Menu Plans » Week of March 24, 2013

Week of March 24, 2013

Sunday:

I’m racking my brain and racking my brain…all I can remember is that it was served with a side of mixed veggies. Here’s your hint of the day: Always make extra veggies. Then make single “toddler ” portions to stick in the bottom drawer of your fridge. It’s amazing what a toddler will eat if he/she can get it on their own!

2013-03-24 17.33.51

Monday:

I found some frozen meatballs in the back of the freezer (I always make a ginormous batch to freeze), spaghetti sauce and I have left over hoagie rolls from last weeks brats!

Meatball Subs, side of spaghetti (*hint* make a bunch of spaghetti for dinner later in the week**), and some steamed broccoli

Tuesday:

I found frozen taco meat! –yet again there are just certain things you should double or triple up on when you cook them so that you can freeze them–and black beans (I buy beans dry and then freeze them after I cook. (To learn to do this: How To Make Beans in a Slow Cooker + Freeze Them For Future Use.)

I thaw it first then stick in a sauce pan with about 1/8-1/4 cup of water to heat up.

Wednesday:

Braided Spaghetti Bread! You are about to carb overload and love every moment of it! (This is why we cooked extra spaghetti on Monday, so we wouldn’t have to do it today.

Original Recipe: ~My Recipe Book~: Braided Spaghetti Bread.

You have to remember to take your frozen bread dough out to thaw! I remembered around 10:30am, it was good to use by 5pm.

Tip–Roll your dough out on parchment paper and leave it there. It is so much easier to transfer to a baking sheet–in fact I roll out mine on my baking sheet. Also, spray your rolling pin down with pam too.

I did not have Mozzarella. but I did have an open container of Ricotta cheese, so I used about 2 heaping spoonfuls and spread that on the dough before adding the spaghetti. I also have a thing for pasta and fresh basil (A-because a plant costs $2 and I manage to keep them alive for about 8 months and B-tomato, basil and cheese is a classic, you can’t go wrong) so, I sprinkled some over the cheese.

Thursday:

Leftovers…By writing out my weekly meals, I’ve started noticing a pattern: Thursdays are Leftovers day. Huh? Who knew!

Friday:

Pizza–Shocker I know, but I wasn’t kidding when I said we have the exact same thing every Friday night (It’s an amazing thing once you learn to accept it! Sometimes taking away the simplest stress factor makes life more enjoyable!)

Saturday:

We decided to do family movie night and dinner as a picnic in the living room! We had some havarti and tomato grilled cheese sandwiches (if you have never had one of these, run! Go now, make yourself one!).

For a side we had these things:

Screenshot_4_3_13_9_14_AM

I have no clue if these things are healthy at all or not, but for a “picnic” they are probably better than some Ruffles with Ridges.

Leave a comment