Home » Menu Plans » Week of March 17, 2013

Week of March 17, 2013

Sunday:

Brats! I found 3 brats in a baggie burried deep in the freezer as well as buns 🙂 Grilling it is.

2013-03-24 17.13.02

(My husband grilled, which meant he had to cut them completely in half to know for sure that they were cooked…)

Served with Ranch Roasted Red Potatoes (http://www.food.com/recipe/hidden-valley-ranch-roasted-red-potatoes-371459)

and….mixed veggies. I almost made some baby carrots, but ran out of steam and just the thought.

Monday:

Stuffed Sole.

Don’t go getting all excited, once again this is not some fancy smancy recipe, you won’t get that from my “meal plans”. What you will get is possibly ideas…Anywho, people LOVE to send us Omaha Steaks food, and I encourage. I think these things came from my dad to celebrate football season with my husband, either that or it was my husband’s birthday. I’m not sure; but I highly encourage everyone to get their family into sending this. Apparently, when you make one order they call you constantly with deals which leads to purchasing more and gifting it!

2013-03-18 16.24.01

God bless Omaha Steaks! I’ve only had to buy ground turkey, the occasional bag of frozen chicken, and pork for 2 years now.

Tuesday:

Pesto Meatball Stew 

I pulled mine out of the freezer. There are just certain things you should double the recipe for and then freeze in batches. This is one. (In fact most stews and chills you should do that for. Save yourself some time in the future, when it’s a slowcooker stew, you aren’t doing any more work when you double the recipe.)

Wednesday:

BBQ Pork sandwiches.

I pulled this out of the freezer too. Again, when you make it in a slow cooker, just double it and freeze.

If I had made it from scratch, it would have been:

1 pork tenderloin (I buy tenderloin in bulk at Costco, I choose not to buy shoulder etc and all that other stuff because a- I don’t have 5 freezers in my garage and b- I find tenderloin to be more flexible when it comes to making different meals.)

1 bottle of BB sauce of choice. (In my world, that usually means what ever Kroger had sitting in their random grocery cart of marked down marinades.)

1 can of coke. (You can do it without the coke, but it’s just not the same. I’ve heard of some people using root beer, and that sounds delicious, but I have absolutely no reason to buy a six pack of root beer or even a 20oz bottle–those are overpriced. I do however enjoy rum and cokes and so does my husband.)

Stick it in the slow cooker on low for the day. I don’t do times on my slow cooker so you won’t get that out of me unless I’m following a recipe.

Thursday:

SMORGASBORD

2013-03-21 17.50.59

A.K.A. Left over night. We call it smorgasbord, when I have just a little bit of everything left and throw it all on a plate. My husband is a huge fan of this event.

Friday:

Pizza pizza pizza!

Saturday:

We got our taxes done Saturday. This necessitated Margaritas afterwards. This week I opted for a raspberry margarita. (I really don’t like original margaritas, the only when you will get me to drink lime is if you also put orang juice in it and a topper of Grand Marnier.)

2013-03-23 17.44.19

Leave a comment