Home » Menu Plans » Week of March 30, 2013

Week of March 30, 2013

Sunday:

Easter dinner. Which meant the exact same thing we had for Christmas–Honey Baked Ham, green beans and scalloped potatoes, it’s what my mom wanted and she wins…but in case you are ever looking for something semi-easy and delicious, I highly recommend this recipe:

Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork With Sweet Potatoes and Pears Recipe

I seriously may throw a dinner party soon just to be able to make this again (I have made it 3 times in 3 years, I need more reasons to make it!)

Monday:

Chili, it was in the freezer. I make a HUUUUUUGGGGEEE batch at the beginning of the winter so I can just pull out of the freezer at will, with a summer around the corner, you are probably going to see this on our menu once a week until I can get it all out of the freezer. (You will have to beg for my recipe, it’s a family secret and could win prizes if we ever let the ingredients be known.)

We like to put some Fritos in a bowl, top with a bunch of chili and shredded cheese then a scoop of plain greek yogurt (I don’t buy sour cream, but that works too!).

Tuesday:

I had chili. Everyone else had a repeat of Easter dinner.

Wednesday:

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe

I only had one can of cream of potato soup, but that’s ok because I have a giant tub of “Cream of Whatever”. This stuff is good. Here’s the recipe I followed to make it, this blogger calls it “Cream of…Soup”:

One Orange Giraffe: Anything You Wanna Call It Casserole.

I took a screen shot of the recipe and instructions and then printed it out as a photo to keep in the bin with my mix. (I like to call this the lazy man’s way of laminating.)

I once again substituted sour cream for non-fat plain greek yogurt.

Side note: I shred my own cheese. If you own a food processor this is the only way to go. It’s cheap and it’s quick to shred a couple blocks. Then put in 1 cup increments into baggies and toss in the fridge for later use.

Thursday:

Leftovers

Friday:

Pizza

Saturday:

Date night!! We went to Studio Movie Grill (had a gift card). Saw the new Oz movie…it was decent. I did not realize that this movie was intended to be 3D, we saw it in 2D. So I left with the beginnings of a migraine and by the time we were home had a full on migraine. It was also filled with cliche lines; but I get what they were trying to do, it just needed a little more tweaking. I do not feel this is a PG film, which of course led to a debate between Nate and I. But seriously, if this is our rating system, my kid is never going to the movies.

Leave a comment