Home » Menu Plans » Week of March 10, 2013

Week of March 10, 2013

The next couple of weeks I am in the process of “Clean it out”. I am endeavoring to feed everyone without going to the grocery store until every last item in the freezer is gone. I only plan to run to the grocery store for vegetables, milk and diet coke.

Sunday:

Brown Sugar Glazed Turkey Meatloaf Recipe, Risotto Cake Bites and Asparagus

Meatloaf–How to Live Gluten-Free on a Budget: 10 Tips + 2 Recipes. Scroll towards the bottom. I made it in the slow cooker…I cooked it on low and then eventually turned it to warm. That’s just how I cook. I can’t remember the last time I set a timer for anything.

I used white onion, it’s what I had, and omitted any herbs and spices since I was using cornbread stuffing mix. No molasses so I didn’t use that either.

Risotto Cake Bites–Courtesy of Omaha Steaks. People just LOVE to send me Omaha Steak stuff…I think they fell into the trap of when you order once they call and give you a deal–but you won’t hear me complaining!

Asparagus–steam and then drizzle with lemon juice. (Truth be told, I hate asparagus. I put it on my plate to make my kid think I’m going to eat it, then when she’s not looking pass it across the table to my husband.)

Husband and I both went back for seconds.

Monday:

Mexican Spuds
I tried to find the recipe for y’all, but it doesn’t seem to exist anymore. I pulled these out of the freezer.

Did you know you can make an entire meal out of a potato? Did you know that you can then wrap the pre-made potato up and stick it in the freezer. You can thank me later for this bit of information.

Tuesday:

Sesame Ginger with madarin orange juice chicken and Thai rice noodles…and peas (Clara has adamant about not going grocery shopping, so I’m running low on vegetables and I think she knows this.)

Now don’t get all excited about this meal. It’s from a bottle. I actually bought the marinade for a friend who gave birth. My after-baby gift to the family was a bunch of pre-marinated meats for the freezer so she could have some go-to meals. I chose not to inform her that the marinades were from a bottle, I can’t help it if she thinks they were homemade and told me how wonderful they tasted.

Recipe:

Remember to take out frozen chicken tenderloins by 2:30pm (Take extra out to thaw in fridge for a meal later in the week.)

Dump marinade over them

At 5pm chop up and “fry” on the stove top in pan drizzled with oil (I only use EVOO for everything…except turkeys).

Add rice noodles that have been soaking in hot water for 25min.

Add leftover marinade and warm it all up.

Cook your peas how you want. Eat them how how want.

Wednesday:

In-a-Hurry Chicken Curry Recipe. Served over quinoa. I don’t use cilantro. I hate cilantro.

Thursday:

Look what’s in the fridge;

20130317-201620.jpg

Must be a leftover night!

Friday:

20130317-201736.jpg

Same yummy pizza every week!

Saturday:
I got out of the house! I got out of the house! Mango margarita, yummy!

20130322-141728.jpg

Leave a comment